Scholarships and Financial Aid

Rhine-Waal University of Applied Sciences awards or distributes the following scholarships to its students. For detailed information about each scholarship, please speak with the indicated contact person.

Deutschlandstipendium (Germany Scholarship)

A comprehensive overview of the requirements and the application process for this scholarship can be found here: Deutschlandstipendium.

ERASMUS+ Student Mobility for Internships or Study Abroad Semester

Please contact Maria Alarcos-Quintanilla in the International Center for more information.

PROMOS Scholarship for Internships or Study Abroad Semester

Please contact Jochen van Bentum in the International Center for more information.


You can also find other scholarship and financial aid opportunities through the following external databases:

ELFI, the ELectronic Research Funding Information System

DAAD scholarship database (financial aid opportunities for periods abroad)

Doctoral fellowship of the Johannes Rau Society (available in German only)

MyStipendium (available in German only)

Advancement Scholarship: Study Support for Specialists with a Vocational Education

The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research’s program “Aufstiegsstipendium” (Advancement Scholarship) supports those with a successfully completed vocational education and training who want to pursue university studies.

Dedicated specialists who want to achieve more in their jobs can make great professional advances thanks to the sponsored studies up to the first academic degree. Part-time studies alongside in-company employment can be supported as well. Thus technicians and other specialists remain available for the company during their studies.

Application requirements are amongst others:

  • Applicants need a completed vocational education and training. This apprenticeship must be conform to German law and accredited in Germany. Please inform on this website: Note: academic studies cannot be recognized as apprenticeship.
  • 24 months of work experience afterwards with a minimum of 19 hours/week.
  • An application for the program is already possible before the start of a study program and within the first year of study.
  • Applicants must have German citizenship or the right of permanent residence or a settlement permit.

For more information please visit the website: (German language only).

German Academic Scholarship Foundation (Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes)

Students who are EU citizens can apply for a scholarship of the German Academic Scholarship Foundation ("Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes"). Detailed information on further requirements and derogations as well as the selection procedure and application process can be found here. For questions about financial aid opportunities through the German Academic Scholarship Foundation please contact Professor Dr. Achim Kehrein via email.

Peter Albers Foundation for Residents of Kleve County (Peter-Albers-Studienfonds)

This foundation provides financial assistance to exceptional students in the county of Kleve in the form of an interest-free student loan. The current funding amount is 600 euros per semester. Repayment goes directly to the foundation to benefit future scholarship winners. More than 440 students have benefitted from this scholarship, amounting to some 600,000 euros of financial aid. Students living or originating from Kleve can submit an application to the chief administrative officer of Kleve (Landrat). Additional information and requirements (available in German only).

Further scholarships and contact persons 

General counselling regarding financing your studies: Study Advisory Service 

Specific requirements for scholarship applications (Currently only possible for students of the faculty Society and Economics) Imke Hans 

Scholarship representatives

Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit: Prof Dr Ralf Klapdor 

Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung: N.N.

Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung: Prof Dr Ingrid Jungwirth 

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung: Prof Dr Eva Maria Hinterhuber 

Hans-Böckler-Stiftung: Prof Dr Torsten Niechoj / Prof Dr Helen Weinbach / Prof Dr Ingrid Jungwirth 

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung: Prof Dr Dietrich Darr