

Election Committee

Hochschule Rhein-Waal | Marie-Curie-Straße 1 | D-47533 Kleve | Germany

То

- all professors

- all members of the academic staff

all members of the non-academic staff

all students

of Rhine-Waal University of Applied Sciences

Name: Daniela Kerkhoff / Dr. Petra Radtke / Jörg Sippel

Address: Marie-Curie-Straße 1

D-47533 Kleve

Phone: +49 (0) 28 21 / 806 73 - 0 Fax: +49 (0) 28 21 / 806 73 - 160

E-Mail: wahlleitung@hochschule-rhein-waal.de

Reference: Election Committee

Date: 27.04.2021

Election Declaration

Version valid from 27.04.2021 (major changes compared to the previous version marked in vellow)

From 22 June to 24 June 2021 electronic elections for the following councils of Rhine-Waal University of Applied Sciences will be held:

- **Senate** (students)
- Faculty Boards (all groups)
- Equal Opportunities Commission (students)
- Special Needs Commissioner for Students with Disabilities or Chronic Illnesses (students)

Five representatives of the group of students are to be elected to the Senate.

Eligibility to vote and stand for the election to the Senate is held by matriculated students provided they are named on the electoral register.

Eleven representatives per faculty are to be elected **to the Faculty Boards** by groups independent of one another:

- · six representatives of the group of professors,
- one representative of the group of academic staff,
- one representative of the group of non-academic staff
- three representatives of the group of students.



Eligibility to vote and stand for the election to the Faculty Boards is held by university staff employed on a full-time basis, not merely temporarily or as guests, and by matriculated students provided they are named on the electoral register. Eligibility is restricted to members of the respective faculty.

Unfortunately, in the group of students fewer candidate proposals for the election to the Faculty Boards were received than seats available for this group. We therefore kindly ask particularly the group of students to hand in further nominations.

Furthermore, in the group of professors significantly fewer proposals for female candidates to the Faculty Boards were received than for male candidates. In order to fulfill the standards of §11b (1) HG NRW, we kindly ask you to hand in further nominations for female candidates.

The Equal Opportunities Commission is to be elected in groups and separated by gender:

- one representative of the group of male students
- one representative of the group of female students.

Eligibility to vote and stand for the election to the Equal Opportunities Commission is held by matriculated students provided they are named on the electoral register.

Unfortunately no candidate proposals were received in the group of students for the equal opportunities commission. Therefore, we kindly ask you to hand in further candidate nominations.

One representative of the group of students is to be elected as the Special Needs Commissioner for Students with Disabilities or Chronic Illnesses.

Eligibility to vote and stand for the election as the Special Needs Commissioner for Students with Disabilities or Chronic Illnesses is held by matriculated students provided they are named on the electoral register.

Unfortunately no candidate proposals were received in the group of students for the Special Needs Commissioner for Students with Disabilities or Chronic Illnesses. Therefore, we kindly ask you to hand in further candidate nominations.

Please note for all elections:

Representatives are elected directly according to the concept of simple majority voting. For each elected body, eligible voters are granted a number of votes equal to the number of electable candidates from their respective group, up to a maximum of three votes. Votes can be distributed to a single candidate or split among multiple candidates within the group. Seats are allocated according to the vote tallies for each candidate in descending order.



Candidate nominations can be submitted to the election committee no later than **1 June 2021**. The candidate and two eligible voters must sign the nomination form. Electronic signatures are acceptable. The appropriate forms will be available from 23 March 2021 on the <u>University's website</u>. Nominations may be submitted by post or as scanned attachment by email to <u>wahlleitung@hochschule-rhein-waal.de</u>. Only nominations submitted in the correct form and on time can will be considered.

Already submitted and approved nominations remain valid.

The lists of candidates standing for election will be on public display on the <u>University's website</u> from **10 June 2021** together with the election notice.

The **electoral register** will be issued by the University's administration and is available for inspection from 23 March 2021 in Kamp-Lintfort in the Dean's secretary office and in Kleve in the President's secretary office. Due to the current Corona situation, inspection is only permitted after prior appointment via wahlleitung@hochschule-rhein-waal.de and in compliance with the current hygiene regulations. Eligible voters may lodge an objection with the election committee regarding the accuracy of the electoral register by no later than the third working day before the election day, i.e. 17 June 2021.

The election will take place from 22 June 2021 to 24 June 2021. They will be held as Internet based online election (electronic election). The online polling portal will be open from Tuesday 22 June at 9:00 to Thursday 24 June 2021 at 15:30. The polling information, including data for authentication and access to the polling portal, will be sent to the voters electronically.

Alternatively, voters can also chose to submit a **postal vote**. This may be requested from the election committee between 23 March and 1 June 2021 via the appropriate form. The form will be available on the University's website as of 23 March 2021. The person requesting postal vote will be excluded from electronic voting once the postal ballot documents are sent out. Applications for postal voting are to be submitted by post or e-mail as scanned attachment sent to wahlleitung@hochschule-rhein-waal.de. Already submitted applications for postal voting remain valid. Requests for postal votes received after 1 June 2021 cannot be considered.

The **election results** shall be publicly announced at the University through a notice put up in suitable places for a period of two weeks.

The Higher Education Act of North-Rhine Westphalia contains a **directive which dictates gender-balance in all elected boards** (§ 11b HG NRW). Should a newly elected board demonstrate no parity of gender, the Higher Education Act stipulates that the election board, among others, must provide documentation which demonstrates that steps were taken to meet the requirements of this directive. If an elected board has an unbalanced gender composition and this composition cannot be duly justified based on objective facts, then this can result in the immediate, legal dissolution and reconstitution of the board as a consequence.



For further information please see the Election Regulations for the Committees and Bodies of Rhine-Waal University of Applied Sciences (Wahlordnung zu den Gremien und Organen der Hochschule Rhein-Waal) of 27 January 2021; these regulations are available on the University's website.

Kleve, 27 April 2021

Petro, Radble

D. Kerkhoff
Daniela Kerkhoff (Election Committee)

Dr. Petra Radtke (Election Committee)

Jörg Sippel (Election Committee)

In cases of doubt, the German version shall be binding.